2024 Director Election
Jun. 26, 2024

2024 Director Election

C & L Electric Cooperative members have elected two directors to the system’s board, it was announced at the organization’s annual membership meeting June 20 at Star City. Charles Searcy, representing Drew County and Robert Wilson Floyd representing Lincoln County, were both re-elected to serve a five-year term.

C & L Electric serves approximately 22,560 homes, farms, businesses and industries in parts of Arkansas, Bradley, Cleveland, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, Jefferson and Lincoln Counties.

Other members of the board are Keith Griffin of Lincoln County, Lawrence “Bubba” Hudson of Desha County, Philip C. “Phil” Wilson of Grant County, Frank Wilson of Cleveland County, Tony Cathey of Bradley County, John Ed Ashcraft of Cleveland County, and William “Bubba” Humphrey of Jefferson County. David Vondran is chief executive officer and general manager.

Statistics cited in the annual report showed system members used 355,305,057 kilowatt hours (kWh) during 2023.  Members used an average of 1312 kWh each month last year.

The largest single expense for C & L Electric in 2023 was the $21,525,978 paid for the electricity it distributed to members.  Wholesale power is purchased from Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation (AECC) which is owned by C & L and 16 other electric cooperatives in Arkansas.  Wholesale power costs accounted for nearly 49 percent of the system’s total outlay.

Approximately 70 percent of C & L Electric’s revenue was provided by its residential and farm members, with commercial and industrial accounts providing for 30 percent.

C & L Electric recorded margins of $3,853,928 during 2023 and ended this year with total assets of $168,288,825.



 Robert Wilson Floyd, a lifelong resident of Lincoln County, has been a director of C & L Electric for eight years, representing the cooperative members of Lincoln County since 2016.

 Robert Wilson graduated from Star City High School and attended the University of Arkansas at Monticello and SEARK Technical College. He helps operate the family business, Floyd's Chipmill, Inc., Floyd's Sawmill, Inc., and Floyd's Auto Parts, Inc., where he is vice-president.

He serves as president of the Southeast Arkansas Horse Show Association, is a member of the Arkansas High School Rodeo Association, Lincoln County Saddle Club, and Lincoln County Cattlemen’s Association. He is also a supporter of the Arkansas Children’s Hospital Log-A-Load for Kids and Arkansas Pro Logger.

Robert Wilson and his wife, Rachael, have three daughters, Josie Claire, Jane Ellen, and Jeorgia Anne. They are members of First Baptist Church in Star City where Robert Wilson serves as a deacon.


Representing Drew County, Charles Searcy of Wilmer has been a director of C & L Electric since June 2000.  During that time, he has served as a director for both Arkansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (AECI) and Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation (AECC).  He has also served as president and secretary-treasurer on the C&L board of directors.

Charles graduated from Monticello High School and received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Accounting from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.  He is a certified public accountant and a partner of Searcy & Associates, LLC at Monticello.

Charles and his wife, Leslie Hollinger Searcy, are members of Shady Grove Missionary Baptist Church.  They have three children, Morgan, Abby, and Matthew.


‹ All News